Select Page

the 2024 Quarters.

Image: Pet Action Photographer of the Year 2023 - Alessia Monaco, Italy

For 2024, The TOG Awards is looking for the very best of our Members imagery. No longer open to the public for this year, The TOG Awards is switching to a quarterly format with an overall title race

Find out more below…

Entry Information: 

Entry to The 2024 TOG Awards is available to any active MTog. An MTog is a Member of That Tog Spot, Jessica McGovern’s learning community. For more information on the MTog membership options and the MTog Vault, please check here

Winners of either Quarterly Recognitions or Annual Awards (Titles) must be active MTog’s at the time the results a released as is the industry norm with internal awards series.


The first phase of judging is called pre-screening and exists to move only entries that meet the rules of the competition into the scoring phase. If an image fails pre-screening then it has either broken core entry rules or is not at professional practice standard and therefore cannot be scored by the judging team.

An online team of judges will assess entries together and allocate a score based on the photographic and post-production skills of the author in line with the following 10 areas:

  1. Impact – This is the sense one gets upon viewing an image for the first time. Compelling images evoke laughter, sadness, anger, pride, wonder or another intense emotion.
  2. Technical Excellence – Judges consider the quality of the image/print itself as presented for viewing.
  3. Lighting – Regardless of whether the light applied to an image is man-made or natural, Judges will look for the effective use of it in order to enhance an image and the purpose of the image.
  4. Creativity – Judges look for the original, fresh, and external expression of the imagination of the maker to convey an idea, message or purpose.
  5. Story Telling – This refers to the image’s ability to communicate to the viewer and evoke imagination.
  6. Subject Matter – This should always be appropriate to the story being told in an image.
  7. Colour Balance – Judges look at the effective use of colours and tones in an image. An image in which the tones work together, effectively supporting the image, can enhance harmony.
  8. Composition – This is central to the design of an image and should bring all the visual elements together in concert to express the purpose of the image.
  9. Centre of Interest – This is the point or points on the image where the maker wants the viewer to stop as they view the image.
  10. Style – Judges look for a specific style ie your specific style. This can be defined in a number of ways. It might be defined by a specific genre or simply be recognisable as the characteristics of how a specific artist applies light to a subject.

Each image starts with 100 marks and marks are deducted for errors, issues or lack of continuity in the aforementioned points.

Images that score 80 or more (from 100) will be recognised with a Merit. The highest-scoring images will be recognised with the title of “Finalist”.

There are 4 core categories:

1. Portrait

  • Any portrait can be entered here.
  • The image can be taken indoors, outdoors, with or without artificial light. Studio images are accepted here.
  • The subject should be stationary.
  • If the subject is in motion, entries should go into Action instead.
  • If retouching drastically changes the original situation, the entry should be placed into the Open category instead.

2. Action

  • Any action photograph can be entered here.
  • The image can be taken indoors, outdoors, with or without artificial light. Studio images are accepted here.
  • The subject should be in motion.
  • If retouching drastically changes the original situation of the animal, the entry should be placed into the Open category instead.

3. Open

  • This category is home to Landscapes, Fine Art, Illustrative and conceptual pieces.
  • If the image doesn’t fit into another category, it should be here.
  • If your image contains a large amount of retouching but would usually fit into another category, it belongs here too.


  • This category aims to find the best unedited image.
  • Only the RAW profile can be adjusted and the removal of sensor spots is permitted.
  • No retouching, editing or alterations are allowed, this includes:
    • Anything involving masks
    • Cloning or healing
    • Cropping
    • Straightening
    • White balance correction
    • Exposure
    • Contrast (shadows, highlights, whites, blacks).
    • Colour adjustments or changes
    • Sharpening
  • This list is exhaustive.
  • RAW files may be requested for checking.

Entering The TOG Awards must be done through the MTog Vault. There is a space on the left-hand menu in Shared Spaces with all the instructions and information you’ll need, plus the entry form itself.